Writing Prompt: Reunion

Prompt: Two people meet at a wake after having spent many years apart. Using mostly dialogue and a minimum of attribution lines, write how their meeting goes.

“Oh. Fancy seeing you here,” she said.

“Same to you,” he replied.

“So… you knew him, too?”

“Yeah, I did.”

“For how long?”

“A while.”

“Ah. When did you hear about…?”

“Last week.”

“Same with me, on Wednesday. It’s just so hard to think he’s gone now… but there he is.”

“I know.”

“I’m sorry. It’s been so long since we were… together. I don’t know what to say….”

“You don’t have to say anything.”

“Okay. Let’s just… do what we came here to do.” She turned to the casket and the one who rested within. “Good-bye, my friend.”

“Thirty years,” said the man beside her.

“Pardon? Oh, yes. Right.”

“Some things just don’t change.”

“They do change. Like on Wednesday… so much changed.”

“I didn’t mean him.”

“Oh. W-wait, you’re leaving already?”

“I’ll be back for the funeral.”

“But you hardly spent any time paying your respects!”

“I spent enough.”

“I see. Yes… some things just don’t change.”

1 Comment

  1. An interesting little piece. It’s a little hard a times to follow which character is which, but with something so short and to the point I’m not sure that matters. The dialog speaks more than the characters (if that makes any sense), and even if you don’t follow exactly who is who it’s still very easy to get a feel for the characters and understand the conversation. You conveyed quite a lot with just a very little.

    Really enjoying these! Hope to see more soon.

Leave a Reply

